How “The Mystical Path” Came To Be


 
A dear friend, Grace, emailed me earlier, as follows:

Dear Marc,

I started to read your blog. It is so rich and informative. I wonder when you had the time to do all that. I shall go through each article. I am also hopeful that your understanding of the mystical path will shed light on what you are undergoing.

Below is the article I told you about. It has been my lifeline and the foundation of my faith. Every morning as I read it, I am able to focus on God’s love “despite any and all appearances to the contrary.” This is what allows me to go about my day with a relative amount of peace, equanimity, and love. This is the grace I pray and wish for you. May the light of the Ascension open up to you the infinite love of God … “despite any and all appearances to the contrary.”

Take care Marc.
Grace

Here was my reply to her.

Hi, Grace.

I’m responding to your email.

The blog site is something I began working on during the early part of last month, September. I had not planned on opening a blog site, but a student of mine had been encouraging me to do so since a few months back. I mulled over the idea even as she persisted regularly with her encouragement. Finally, something within moved me to open the site at wordpress.com, a reputable free blog site service.

To my amazement, the ideas and the words began to unfold from inside me and to flow straight from my mind, night after night as I worked on the site, a portion at a time. It was like a jigsaw puzzle where the pieces just kept falling into their proper places. It did not take me long to realize that the Spirit of God was actively doing the blog through me. By the time I invited you to visit the site, I was fully convinced that the blog was a piece of divine creation directly inspired and written by the Spirit. It is not my personal human undertaking. It is God’s. I was just used by the Spirit to bring it out.

But I also saw a divine purpose and a message to me from God behind the blog’s making. God gave me a mirror with which to look at myself, my life, and the progress of my own spiritual journey.   It was almost as if God came to me directly out of the heavens to act as my personal spiritual director (which, I suppose, is literally true in a profound spiritual manner).   Above all, I could see the blog mirror and reflect back the degree of spiritual understanding and mystical intimacy which had developed over the years between God (as Truth) and me.

In a real sense, it is answered prayer to me — God’s answer to my prayer plea for many months now, to make me understand what I was going through during this so-called “dark night of the spirit” I was in.  Over and over during the writing of the blog, two things kept on echoing back and forth consistently like recurring themes: Oneness and Practicethe Mystical Path and the Spiritual Journey.   I soon saw that these aspects of the mystical life were forming the binding adhesive that would hold the blog site together.  Truly they constitute the core of living the mystical life.

Then I began to understand why I was feeling so confused and helpless during the current phase of my spiritual development.   The path in front of me had vanished altogether without my noticing it! (My personal or ego sense of human security based on material sense was eroding quickly, too, whether it be the economic security a job could provide or the financial support family could give.) The journey, itself, had become the path; the path was now my journey. My spiritual practice in and by itself was now my path.  (I suppose this is the stage of the journey where one is called by God to abandonment beyond surrender.)  If you recall, I had written about this phenomenon of the path and the journey merging in the blog, ironically before I even realized it applied to my situation already (an example of God providing me spiritual direction).

If you find the blog rich and informative, it is because I think I have come to know God richly and yet in such simple terms as the Path and the Journey.

Thank you for pointing out the matter of the Ascension and Fr. Keating’s article. I am aware that I am undergoing the Ascension process. I even mentioned the Ascension in the blog as a one liner. It is the dying to the human ego which is a painful, confusing, difficult, and bitter experience. Yet I am aware that my soul cannot ascend unless I release the human ego. I thank you further for your prayers because I feel they have become effective and answered in me. Since the past two or three days, I have been receiving the grace you mentioned: For “the light of the Ascension (to) open up to you the infinite love of God … ‘despite any and all appearances to the contrary.’ ” As I wrote you in my reply to your post at the blog site: “Quite instantly as soon as the adjustment in consciousness was made, I felt a deeper and more abiding sense of inner peace from my practice.”

Thank you, dear loving friend, for everything you are, for the goodness of God that you are. I rejoice with you and join you in this most wonderful Ascension of our souls.

Marc

Note: I have incorporated the Ascension article by Fr. Thomas Keating referred to by Grace in her email, on the page “Mystical Oneness.”

A Divinely Inspired Blog Site
Thus were the circumstances under which this blog The Mystical Path came to be. Spiritual consciousness was the motivating force behind the blog, silently acting and moving throughout the blog’s period of gestation.  Spiritual consciousness was the creative force that wrote the blog, bursting from its shell by its own divine will and momentum. Spiritual consciousness is unfolding freely and infinitely through the blog, which is why it will continue to be a spiritual work in progress.

The blog was born in the thick of the dark night of the spirit.   The Spirit now comes forth from out of the blog’s pages to bless and illumine with its inner light of Truth.   The blog would be a vehicle for mystical transformation and ascension.  This blog is a gift of divine grace!

________________________________________________________________
What do you wish to do next on the path?

About Marc of Contemplative Pathways

Marc teaches contemplative meditation in the context of contemporary mysticism. His understanding of the mystical life is rooted in over 30 years of study, practice, unfoldment, realization and experience, in the course of which he has received the gifts of spiritual discernment and transmission. His teaching work meaningfully shifts consciousness in a student through the process and alchemy of mystical transformation. Marc facilitates the mystical teachings under the style of Contemplative Pathways, enabling others to embark on the spiritual journey by learning the Truth teaching and living its principles. He has been conducting classes and meditation meetings in the San Francisco Bay Area in a classroom, lecture, workshop or group practice setting, for over fifteen years. His methodology of instruction is divinely inspired and firmly rooted in pure, authentic mysticism. His approach to the mystical life is essentially nondenominational, nonsectarian, culturally interfaith, spiritually transreligious, and definitively unitive and nondualistic. His other contributions to worldwide spiritual awakening and the global contemplative movement include spiritual mentoring and spiritual healing practice. Within the context of the great shift in consciousness now occurring all over the planet, Marc’s work presently focuses on individual and collective spiritual transformation and healing through the practice of contemplation or meditation, as the vehicle for transcendence and ascension to the higher dimensions of mystical consciousness. He remains firmly committed to the vision of a global spiritual awakening and the divine promise of humanity’s mystical illumination.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Consciousness & Spirituality, Contemplation/Meditation, Oneness, The Mystical Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

