I Wanna Be Free


 
Independence Day is being celebrated today in the country where I reside. On Facebook, I wanted to share a feeling I was acutely aware of at that time, with my FREEDOM-Being and FREE-Loving friends, followers and readers. As I composed my Facebook post, this particular old song popped out from nowhere into my present awareness and memory.


At the height of its popularity when I was a young teen, that song felt so meaningful for some undefined reason, apart from the obvious fact that it is beautiful and sweet. Teens then were going crazy for Davy Jones and his singing band, “The Monkees.”

But looking back now, I see that it was an unconscious longing for a spiritual search and journey to come in later years — call it a foreboding of spiritual unfoldment — to become free from the problems of living a human life and the limitations of the human condition, to spread wings instead of arms that could make me fly and soar toward the heavens. To love freely and be loved unconditionally.

I wanted to post something musical on Facebook for Independence Day. That song was the first thing that came to mind without any effort at thinking or recalling. It seemed to pop out of the very ether. I guess that “Withinness” wanted to remind me and my readers of what we all want in life . . . TO BE FREE.

        Lyrics:

          I wanna be free
          Like the bluebirds flying by me
          Like the waves out on the blue sea
          If your love has to tie me
          Don’t try me, say goodbye

          I wanna be free
          Don’t say you love me, say you like me
          But when I need you beside me
          Stay close enough to guide me
          Confide in me, whoa, oh, oh

          I wanna hold your hand
          Walk along the sand
          Laughing in the sun
          Always having fun
          Doing all those things
          Without any strings to tie me down

          I wanna be free
          Like the warm September wind, babe
          Say you’ll always be my friend, babe
          We can make it to the end, babe
          Again, babe, I’ve gotta say

          I wanna be free
          I wanna be free
          I wanna be free

The song “I Wanna Be Free” is from my years past of yesteryears. Today the song brings a new awareness upon its recall. I have learned and realize that although we are all one and the same in God, the individual expression of that Oneness through each of us and in each of our life experiences will always be different and unique from one another — an infinite paradox playing out in the world of manifest forms. Even that eternal variation is an expression of Its infinity and beauty.

There really cannot be a uniformity in social existence or in all people’s individual lives. It is going against the very nature and grain of becoming, which seeks diversity. Consequently, we should allow and grant our other individual Selves the freedom to express the Godhead within differently. By the same token, we should welcome and celebrate the diversity of life and existence.

In truth, I feel Independence Day should be an appreciation of our individual uniqueness and a grand celebration of the billions and billions of variations that we each are as that invisible One. Perhaps that might not be the case in the world at present, but one day, soon, it will be. Until then, I wanna be free.

When we love freely, we live freely.

Absolute Freedom


Be free, as free as the air you breathe is free.
HAPPY FREEDOM Day, from Me to You.


About Marc of Contemplative Pathways

Marc teaches contemplative meditation in the context of contemporary mysticism. His understanding of the mystical life is rooted in over 30 years of study, practice, unfoldment, realization and experience, in the course of which he has received the gifts of spiritual discernment and transmission. His teaching work meaningfully shifts consciousness in a student through the process and alchemy of mystical transformation. Marc facilitates the mystical teachings under the style of Contemplative Pathways, enabling others to embark on the spiritual journey by learning the Truth teaching and living its principles. He has been conducting classes and meditation meetings in the San Francisco Bay Area in a classroom, lecture, workshop or group practice setting, for over fifteen years. His methodology of instruction is divinely inspired and firmly rooted in pure, authentic mysticism. His approach to the mystical life is essentially nondenominational, nonsectarian, culturally interfaith, spiritually transreligious, and definitively unitive and nondualistic. His other contributions to worldwide spiritual awakening and the global contemplative movement include spiritual mentoring and spiritual healing practice. Within the context of the great shift in consciousness now occurring all over the planet, Marc’s work presently focuses on individual and collective spiritual transformation and healing through the practice of contemplation or meditation, as the vehicle for transcendence and ascension to the higher dimensions of mystical consciousness. He remains firmly committed to the vision of a global spiritual awakening and the divine promise of humanity’s mystical illumination.
This entry was posted in Consciousness & Spirituality, Mysticism, Oneness, The Mystical Life, Transformation and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

